Thursday, October 2, 2014

Short Takes

Secret Service chief Julia Pierson resigns over security lapses.

Beijing warns Hong Kong of “chaos” from protests.

Questions arise over initial response to Ebola patient in Texas.

Guilty verdict in trial of Florida man in shooting of an unarmed man over loud music.

New Moon — Image forces change in theory of the moon’s formation.

The Tigers take on Baltimore in the opening game of the ALDS tonight.

 

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Saturday, September 27, 2014

Short Takes

Three European nations offer limited support in fight against ISIS.

Fire at an F.A.A. facility near Chicago grounded planes across the Midwest on Friday.

Federal court won’t take up Wisconsin voter I.D. law.

Earthquake swarm rattles Mammoth Lakes area in California.

Police behavior in Ferguson gets attention from the D.O.J.

Chelsea Clinton has a girl, Charlotte.

The Tigers got hammered 11-4 by the Twins, dragging out the clinching.

Friday, September 26, 2014

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Short Takes

President Obama at the U.N.

The Security Council unanimously passed an anti-terrorism resolution.

ISIS splinter group in Algeria execute French hostage.

Protests and arrests in Ferguson after a memorial was destroyed by fire.

Protests at Florida State after GOP hack John Thrasher named university president.

The Tigers beat the White Sox 6-1 and bring the magic number to 1.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Short Takes

U.S. and Arab allies launch big airstrikes against ISIS in Syria.

Kurdish refugees from Syria are pouring into Turkey.

Flood Wall Street disrupted Wall Street over climate change.

Three Afghan army officers training in Massachusetts were caught trying to cross into Canada.

White House intruder had ammo and weapons in his car.

The Tigers lost to Chicago 2-0; lead in division at one game.

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Friday, September 19, 2014

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Friday, September 12, 2014

Short Takes

Secretary of State Kerry meet with Arab leaders to build a coalition against ISIS.

European leaders agreed to tougher sanctions against Russia.

A newly-released video from Ferguson bolsters claims that Michael Brown was shot while surrendering.

What a surprise: Senate Republicans killed the Citizens United constitutional amendment.

Ted Cruz got booed off-stage by Arab Christians.

Tropical Update: Two areas of potential weather in the Atlantic are Invest 92L and TS Edouard.

The Tigers had a much-needed night off.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Saturday, September 6, 2014

Friday, September 5, 2014

Short Takes

President Obama at NATO summit: reject isolationism.

Former Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell convicted on corruption charges.

BP found “reckless” in Gulf spill; faces $18 billion fine.

Federal judge blocks Ohio early-voting change.

Kansas A.G. blocks Democratic candidate’s withdrawal from Senate race.

R.I.P. Joan Rivers, 81, comedian, director, and producer.

The Tigers beat Cleveland 11-4 in extra innings.

Thursday, September 4, 2014

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Sunday, August 31, 2014

Saturday, August 30, 2014