Thursday, December 14, 2017

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Monday, December 11, 2017

Friday, December 8, 2017

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Short Takes

The Mideast is in turmoil over Trump’s plan to move the U.S. embassy to Jerusalem.

Mueller goes after Trump’s Deutsch Banke records.

Mass evacuations in the Ventura County wildfires in California.

Russia banned from 2018 Olympics.

Rep. John Conyers (D-MI) retires from Congress in wake of accusations of sexual assaults.

Friday, December 1, 2017

Short Takes

Argentina ends search for missing submarine.

Outrage grows in Britain over Trump’s retweets.

GOP holdouts cave on tax bill.

Bette Midler vs. Geraldo Rivera over his defense of Matt Lauer.

R.I.P. Jim Nabors, 87, portrayed Gomer Pyle on TV.

Hurricane season is officially over, and not a minute too soon.

Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Monday, November 13, 2017

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Short Takes

U.S. imposes new travel restrictions to Cuba.

Chinese gas deal raises ethical questions for Commerce Secretary Ross.

Justice Department has new demands on AT&T/Time Warner merger.

Germany to recognize third gender.

Obama reports for jury duty.  (Bet he didn’t have to watch “The Proposal” again.)

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Monday, November 6, 2017

Thursday, November 2, 2017

Hack Job

David Corn reports in Mother Jones that Russian hackers broke into the Trump cyber network.

Four years ago, the Trump Organization experienced a major cyber breach that could have allowed the perpetrator (or perpetrators) to mount malware attacks from the company’s web domains and may have enabled the intruders to gain access to the company’s computer network. Up until this week, this penetration had gone undetected by President Donald Trump’s company, according to several internet security researchers.

In 2013, a hacker (or hackers) apparently obtained access to the Trump Organization’s domain registration account and created at least 250 website subdomains that cybersecurity experts refer to as “shadow” subdomains. Each one of these shadow Trump subdomains pointed to a Russian IP address, meaning that they were hosted at these Russian addresses. (Every website domain is associated with one or more IP addresses. These addresses allow the internet to find the server that hosts the website. Authentic Trump Organization domains point to IP addresses that are hosted in the United States or countries where the company operates.) The creation of these shadow subdomains within the Trump Organization network was visible in the publicly available records of the company’s domains.

There’s much more in the article itself, but the first thing that occurs to me is blackmail.

Short Takes

New York City attack suspect charged with terrorism.

Russian trolls’ social media posts shown.

Britain’s defense secretary resigns after improper behavior.

California hostage crisis ends with death of suspect.

San Juan mayor to Trump: You can’t handle the truth.

The Astros won the World Series!

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Tuesday, October 24, 2017