Thursday, February 23, 2017

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Friday, February 17, 2017

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Blackmail Is Such An Ugly Word

But that’s what Michael Flynn was vulnerable to after playing footsies with the Russians.

The acting attorney general informed the Trump White House late last month that she believed Michael Flynn had misled senior administration officials about the nature of his communications with the Russian ambassador to the United States, and warned that the national security adviser was potentially vulnerable to Russian blackmail, current and former U.S. officials said.

The message, delivered by Sally Q. Yates and a senior career national security official to the White House counsel, was prompted by concerns that ­Flynn, when asked about his calls and texts with the Russian diplomat, had told Vice ­President-elect Mike Pence and others that he had not discussed the Obama administration sanctions on Russia for its interference in the 2016 election, the officials said. It is unclear what the White House counsel, Donald McGahn, did with the information.

Flynn resigned Monday night in the wake of revelations about his contacts with the Russian ambassador.

This goes back a while; the Trump people knew about this even before Trump was sworn in but apparently they either thought it would blow over or it wouldn’t leak out.  All that mindset does is demonstrate that these folks have no idea how things work in Washington.

This isn’t over; perhaps we’ll be treated to legal action since now we’re finding out that Gen. Flynn was paid by the Russians for his trip to Moscow in 2015.

In addition, the Army has been investigating whether Mr. Flynn received money from the Russian government during a trip he took to Moscow in 2015, according to two defense officials. Such a payment might violate the Emoluments Clause of the Constitution, which prohibits former military officers from receiving money from a foreign government without consent from Congress. The defense officials said there was no record that Mr. Flynn, a retired three-star Army general, filed the required paperwork for the trip.

Stay tuned.

Monday, February 13, 2017

Friday, February 10, 2017

Short Takes

Appeals court rules unanimously against Trump’s executive order on immigration.

It’s a no-no: Conway gets schooled on hawking Ivanka merchandise.

Heavy winter storm cancels thousands of flights in the Northeast.

Russian airstrike kills Turkish soldiers.

Aretha Franklin announces her retirement.

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Monday, February 6, 2017

Friday, February 3, 2017

Thursday, February 2, 2017

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Short Takes

Trump picks Neil Gorsuch for Supreme Court.

Senate Democrats boycott two cabinet hearings, delaying vote.

California legislature considers statewide “sanctuary” law.

Homeland Security chief says he knew Trump immigrant ban was coming.

Trump state visit to Britain “difficult” for the Queen.

Israel not happy over Iran missile test.

Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit.

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Monday, January 30, 2017

Short Takes

Gunmen attack mosque in Quebec City, killing several people.

Trump stands firm over travel ban.

Protests erupt again nationwide over travel ban.

U.S. service member killed in Yemen commando raid on al-Qaeda.

Canada says refugees are welcome.

WTF: Propagandist Steve Bannon made full member of NSC.

Friday, January 27, 2017