Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Monday, November 27, 2017

The Onslaught

Thank Dog that there’s TiVo, Netflix, and Microsoft Word or else I would have spent the entire Thanksgiving holiday convinced that the only way to find true happiness in life was to buy fancy chocolates, electric razors (and the hunky models that come with them) and luxury automobiles that plow through snow on the way to buy the perfect tree.  And what would the holidays be without a of bunch autotune variations on “The Carol of the Bells” and the return of the Hershey’s Kisses handbell chorus?

Newsflash: the war on Christmas is over.  It won.

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Monday, January 23, 2017

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Monday, October 24, 2016

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Short Takes

President Obama tells Donald Trump to “stop whining” about ‘rigged’ election claims.

Short-term cease-fire in Yemen seems possible.

Local cable unplugged: Ecuador says it limited Julian Assange’s internet access.

Ford’s plant in Mexico won’t affect its U.S. workforce.

Magazine says six people corroborate writer’s claim that Trump assaulted her.

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Short Takes

Hillary Clinton campaigned in Miami with Al Gore.

Kinky: Donald Trump says the “shackles are off.”

Federal prosecutors will file contempt-of-court charges against Sheriff Joe Arpaio.

Native Americans dug in for the long haul to protest the pipeline in North Dakota.

The death toll from flooding in North Carolina reached 22.

Samsung’s Galaxy Note 7 smartphone has flamed out.

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Short Takes

Haiti is facing a surge in cholera after Hurricane Matthew laid waste.

North Carolina is undergoing record flooding after Hurricane Matthew.

Ratings for the second debate fell from 84 million to 66 million.

Federal judge orders Florida to extend voter registration one more day.

Samsung halts sales of Galaxy 7 replacement phones.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Friday, September 16, 2016

Short Takes

Hillary Clinton went back on the campaign trail.

President Obama designated the first national marine monument off the coast of New England.

The Senate passed a bill to help Flint repair the water system.

Feds recall 1 million Samsung Galaxy Note 7’s.

The Tigers lost to the Twins 5-1.

Thanks, Mom and Dad.

Friday, September 9, 2016

Short Takes

73 Syria aid groups suspend cooperation with U.N.

Wells Fargo hit with $185 million in fines for setting up fake accounts.

NASA launches probe to bring back pieces of an asteroid.

Car with gas cylinders near Notre Dame in Paris baffles police.

Dozens stuck overnight at 10,000 feet in the air over the Alps.

FAA issues warnings about Samsung smartphones on planes.

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Friday, August 12, 2016

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Short Takes

The Democratic Convention gets underway.

DNC apologizes to Sanders for “inexcusable” e-mails.

Shooting in Ft. Myers leaves two dead.

Solar plane completes around-the-world trip.

Nineteen killed in Japanese stabbing spree.

Verizon picks up Yahoo!

The Tigers beat the Red Sox 4-2.

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Short Takes

Supreme Court strikes down restrictive abortion rights.

Supreme Court upholds ban on gun sales to those convicted of domestic violence.

U.K. politics in meltdown after Brexit.

Volkswagen agrees to settle U.S. emissions scandal for $14.7 billion.

Clinton and Warren hit the campaign trail in Ohio.

Wednesday, May 4, 2016