Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Monday, October 13, 2014

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Friday, October 3, 2014

Short Takes

The leader of Hong Kong refused to resign in the face of the Umbrella movement.

ISIS is pressing their attack on border towns in Syria and Iraq.

None of the 100 people who came in contact with the Ebola patient in Texas are showing symptoms.

Oil prices are dropping; crude is under $90 a barrel.

JP Morgan hacked; over 76 million households affected.

The Tigers got walloped 12-3 by the Orioles in Game 1 of the ALDS.

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Short Takes

Secret Service chief Julia Pierson resigns over security lapses.

Beijing warns Hong Kong of “chaos” from protests.

Questions arise over initial response to Ebola patient in Texas.

Guilty verdict in trial of Florida man in shooting of an unarmed man over loud music.

New Moon — Image forces change in theory of the moon’s formation.

The Tigers take on Baltimore in the opening game of the ALDS tonight.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Sunday, September 28, 2014

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Soft On Crime

Conservative pundit Dinesh D’Souza gets a slap on the wrist and avoids the joint.

Conservative author and filmmaker Dinesh D’Souza avoided prison on Tuesday when a U.S. judge sentenced him to serve eight months in a community confinement center after he pleaded guilty to violating campaign finance law.

D’Souza, 53, was ordered by U.S. District Judge Richard Berman in Manhattan to live in a center, which would allow him to leave during non-residential hours for employment, for the first eight months of a five-year probationary period.

Berman also ordered D’Souza to perform one day of community service a week during probation, undergo weekly therapy and pay a $30,000 fine.

D’Souza, a frequent critic of U.S. President Barack Obama, admitted in May to illegally reimbursing two “straw donors” who donated $10,000 each to the unsuccessful 2012 U.S. Senate campaign in New York of Wendy Long, a Republican he had known since attending Dartmouth College in the early 1980s.

“It was a crazy idea, it was a bad idea,” D’Souza told Berman before being sentenced. “I regret breaking the law.”

His minions were all crying that he was being singled out by the evil Kenyan secret Muslim gay socialist dictator for daring to challenge his powers.  Actually, if Barack Obama had that much power, Mr. D’Souza would have disappeared without a trace long ago.  Now he can write a book about how hard life is in stir.

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Monday, August 18, 2014

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Short Takes

Ukraine: Two military jets were shot down in the same vicinity as the Malaysian airline.

Israel faces economic and political challenges; the FAA lifts the ban on flights to Tel Aviv.

Robert McDonald appears to have a lock on being confirmed as the next Secretary of Veterans Affairs.

It took almost two hours for Arizona to execute a condemned man.

Tropical Update:  TD Two has fizzled out.

The Tigers beat the Diamondbacks 11-5.

Monday, May 5, 2014

Friday, May 2, 2014

Vandalism

I stopped in at the store on the way home last night.  I was in for about ten minutes and when I came out, someone had knocked off the passenger-side rearview mirror on the Mustang.  The whole thing.  It was dangling by the cord that runs the adjustment motor.

I was parked well within the lines and when I went into the store, there were no cars on either side of me.

Of course no one saw a thing.

Monday, March 10, 2014

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Saturday, February 8, 2014

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Friday, January 31, 2014