Monday, October 16, 2017

Friday, October 13, 2017

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Monday, October 9, 2017

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Next To Go

My money — if I had any — would be on Secretary of State Rex Tillerson to be the next one out the door to spend more time with his family.  And not just because of this little spat that emerged via NBC News yesterday and wound up with a news conference to deny the whole thing.

Trump has undercut his cabinet secretary at every turn with his Twitter outbursts that have brought us to the brink of war with North Korea, pissed off Australia, embarrassed us with Europe, and basically played the drunk toaster at the rehearsal dinner at the United Nations.

And as Tillerson has traveled the globe, Trump believes his top diplomat often seems more concerned with what the world thinks of the United States than with tending to the president’s personal image.

Calling Trump a moron was putting it nicely.

Give it a couple of weeks for things to cool down and for the short-term memory lapses to make us forget that Mr. Tillerson joined the chorus of Americans who think Trump is a moron.  I’m pretty sure the Secretary is already working on a post-Trump administration gig with some global oil corporation with nice benefits like his own private jet and less public humiliation.

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Short Takes

Death toll up to 59 in the Las Vegas massacre.

Congress looking to roll back gun laws.

Catalans not seeking “traumatic split.”

Body clock scientists win Nobel Prize.

R.I.P. Tom Petty, 66, rock music iconoclast.

GM plans to ditch internal combustion engine at some point in the future.

Monday, October 2, 2017

Short Takes

Catalonia says they voted for independence; Madrid disagrees, and violence ensued.

Trump undermines Secretary of State on North Korea talks via tweet.

Sec. Mnuchin says FEMA doing “terrific job” in Puerto Rico (because “heckava” was already taken).

NFL players continue to take a knee.

Germans celebrate first legal gay marriage.

Thursday, September 28, 2017

Short Takes

Half of Puerto Rico still without fresh water.

Japan parliament dissolved ahead of snap election.

Trump/GOP tax plan is revealed except how to pay for it.

Russia, U.S. discuss lunar base.

R.I.P. Hugh Hefner, 91, creator of Playboy.  (Oddly enough, I never understood the attraction, but hey…)

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Monday, September 25, 2017

Friday, September 22, 2017

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Friday, September 1, 2017

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Thursday, August 24, 2017