Tuesday, November 25, 2014

A Little Night Music

Way back in 1988 I was an interim professor at a college in Colorado.  It was a one-year gig and I didn’t expect to make it my career there.  But while I was there I met an amazing woman who taught music and had an almost magical touch with the harp.  A little over a year ago I found her e-mail and dropped her a line… and today she replied.  It was a short but loving note that brought back memories of listening to her play and sing.  I knew what I had to choose for ALNM tonight.

Monday, November 24, 2014

Sunday, November 23, 2014

A Little Night Music

Somebody in some show I was watching on TiVo said, “Who doesn’t like Harry Potter?”  Which got me to thinking…

Saturday, November 22, 2014

Friday, November 21, 2014

Thursday, November 20, 2014

A Little Night Music

R.I.P. Mike Nichols.

The Graduate was directed by Mike Nichols and was the first R-rated movie I ever saw.  It was April 1968 in Newport, Rhode Island, I was fifteen, and my parents took me.

There are many, many stories about Mike Nichols, but one of my favorites is about when he was directing the original production of Neil Simon’s “The Odd Couple” with Art Carney and Walter Matthau on Broadway.  He and Matthau did not get along and after one particularly nasty exchange between the director and actor, Matthau came down to the apron of the stage and said, “Okay, Mike, can I have my balls back now?”  Without missing a beat Nichols snapped his fingers and yelled “Props!”

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Monday, November 17, 2014

Sunday, November 16, 2014

Saturday, November 15, 2014

A Little Night Music

I had lunch today with fellow playwright Dan Goggin, the creator of Nunsense.  And if you’re just back from the Delta Quadrant and haven’t heard of the show, here’s a little piece of it with Terri White and the immortal Rue McClanahan.

Friday, November 14, 2014

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Monday, November 10, 2014

Sunday, November 9, 2014

A Little Night Music

After a day of assembling scenery for the Miami Acting Company’s upcoming production of Fiddler on the Roof, it’s time for a little music from the show.

Saturday, November 8, 2014

Friday, November 7, 2014

Thursday, November 6, 2014