Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Monday, October 27, 2014

Monday, September 29, 2014

Saturday, September 13, 2014

Short Takes

Liberia pleads for help from the U.S. against ebola.

Arab states are “tepid” in their response to calls to fight ISIS from the U.S.

Sources say NFL commissioner Roger Goodell knew of Ray Rice’s crime long before he said he did.

Toronto mayor Rob Ford has dropped out of the reelection race.

R.I.P. Bob Crewe, 83, songwriter of hits by Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons.

The Tigers beat Cleveland 7-2 to retake first place.

Sunday, September 7, 2014

Sunday, August 31, 2014

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Short Takes

Russia tries to sound both tough and nice on response to jet attack.

Death toll continues to rise on both sides in Israel/Gaza conflict.

U.N. says Iran has turned much of its nuclear material to harmless use.

Perry sends Texas troops to border.

Wildfires continue to expand in Pacific Northwest.

Tropical Update: TD Two is east of the Lesser Antilles.

The Tigers beat the Diamondbacks 4-3.

Sunday, July 20, 2014

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Hot Spot

This sounds like the plot of a movie on SyFy.

Tourists at Yellowstone National Park are being barred from areas of the park because the massive underground supervolcano beneath it is melting the asphalt roads.

“It basically turned the asphalt into soup. It turned the gravel road into oatmeal,” Yellowstone spokesman Dan Hottle said. In particular, Hottle said that the road between the park’s most popular attraction, Old Faithful, and Madison Junction has been dangerously compromised.

[...]The last time the supervolcano beneath Yellowstone actually erupted was 640,000 years ago, U.S. Geological Survey records show.

You wait; someone is going to figure out a way to blame this on President Obama.

Sunday, July 13, 2014

Sunday, July 6, 2014

Monday, June 30, 2014

Short Takes

President Obama to nominate former P&G CEO Bob McDonald as the next Secretary of Veterans Affairs.

Marine who disappeared in Iraq in 2004 is back in the U.S.

European leaders meet to discuss continued fighting in Ukraine.

Crews fighting wildfires in Arizona get relief from the winds.

Tropical Update: We have our first potential disturbance in the Atlantic.

R.I.P. Meshach Taylor, 67, actor on Designing Women.

The Tigers lost to the Astros 6-4.

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Monday, May 26, 2014

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Short Takes

Hundreds of miners are feared lost in an explosion in a mine in Turkey.

Drones put to good use: searching for the missing girls in Nigeria.

Over 11,000 homes have been evacuated as wildfires burn in San Diego County.

Wedding bells for same-sex couples will begin on Friday in Idaho after the judge denied the stay requested by the governor.

The Tigers swept the Orioles 7-5.  At 24-12, the Tigers have the best record in the majors.

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Short Takes

The U.S. is sending a team to Nigeria to assist in locating the missing 300 girls.

Ukraine has a new military commander.

Climate change study says the problem is only getting more urgent.

The White House is backing Veterans Affairs Secretary Eric Shinseki who is under attack for the situation at the VA hospital in Phoenix.

Haiti confirms 14 new cases of mosquito-borne virus.

The Tigers walloped the Astros 11-4.  At 19-9, the Tigers have the best record in baseball.

Monday, May 5, 2014