Friday, April 18, 2014

Monday, April 7, 2014

Monday, March 3, 2014

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Catching Up

Thanks to Bob and the Old Professor for a swell party last night: lots of friends from all sorts of places; theatre, the car club, school.  And the food was great and plentiful.

Some news items that caught my attention this morning:

- The passengers aboard the sight-seeing ship to Antarctica that got stuck in the ice on Christmas Eve have been taken off via helicopter.  There wasn’t a risk of it turning into the Donner Party; the ship had plenty of provisions, but I’ll bet they got tired of watching the live version of Happy Feet over and over.

- Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor has temporarily blocked the implementation of the Obamacare contraception mandate for religious-based organizations.  No, this does not apply to Hobby Lobby.

- The Northeast and New England is bracing for another heavy snowstorm and very cold temperatures.

- A federal court has permanently blocked the implementation of one of Gov. Rick Scott’s campaign promises: mandatory drug testing of welfare recipients.

- People lined up around the block all over Colorado to buy marijuana legally sold for recreational use for the first time.

- The fecal matter is impacting the ventilating device for the people involved in the George Washington Bridge lane closure incident, and starting to land on the shoes of Gov. Christie.

- The Morning Joe crew is still a bunch of Villager chin-strokers even without their eponymous host.

What are you doing today?

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Monday, November 4, 2013

Friday, October 18, 2013

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Monday, October 7, 2013

Saturday, October 5, 2013

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Miss Statement

There’s a lot of elitist chortling over the fact that a beauty pageant contestant fumbled a question about income inequality.

But I’m willing to cut her a bit of slack based on the fact that A) it was a beauty contest, not a presidential primary, and B) as Charlie Pierce points out, we’ve seen some presidential candidates do worse with the question.