Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Monday, December 15, 2014

Friday, December 12, 2014

Thursday, December 4, 2014

Monday, December 1, 2014

Made It Through Another Season

It’s December 1.  That means that as of midnight (ET), the Atlantic hurricane season is officially over until June 1.

This is the ninth year we in South Florida have gone without a major hurricane.  The last one of any note here in Miami was Wilma in October 2005.  I am sure there are all sorts of meteorological reasons why we’ve not been hit while others have (e.g. Irma, Sandy), but whatever it is, I’m glad we can get rid of our stash of Dinty Moore and Nature Valley bars for a while.

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Safe Travels

A lot of people are traveling today for the holiday — I know the office will be mere shadow of its usual self today.  Just in time for it comes a big winter storm along the East Coast.

Millions of Americans planning to take to the roads and skies for Thanksgiving face travel chaos because of a storm that’s forecast to batter the Northeast on Wednesday. Meteorologists said Tuesday that the nor’easter was likely to hit on a day when more than 46 million people across the nation were expected to journey 50 miles or more.

The nor’easter is expected to throw a variety of misery at travelers, from a slushy mixture and rain and snow and 30-mph winds in Boston, New York City and Washington, D.C., to as much as 16 inches of snow in western Massachusetts. “Travel is not going to be a lot of fun for people trying to get to Grandma’s house on Wednesday,” said Kevin Roth, lead meteorologist at The Weather Channel. Major airports would be lucky to escape without significant delays, Roth said.

Good luck getting to New Jersey, Vikram.  My offer of an extra place at the table on Thursday still stands.

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Monday, November 24, 2014

Friday, November 21, 2014

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Monday, November 17, 2014

Friday, November 14, 2014

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Short Takes

U.S. and China reach agreement on climate change deal.

Winter storm in Midwest kills four.

Doctor with Ebola in N.Y. has recovered and released from the hospital.

Telecoms set to battle Obama over net neutrality.

Three civil rights workers murdered in 1964 will receive posthumous Presidential Medals of Freedom.

R.I.P. John Doar, leading civil rights attorney;  Carol Ann Susi, voice of Mrs. Wolowitz on The Big Bang Theory.

Monday, November 10, 2014

Monday, November 3, 2014

Friday, October 31, 2014

Friday, October 24, 2014

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Short Takes

The latest on the shootings in Ottawa.

Four former Blackwater guards found guilty in killings in Iraq.

Academic fraud scandal at the University of North Carolina.

Another fence-jumper at the White House; tackled outside this time.

Suspended South Carolina House leader to plead guilty to ethics charges.

Tropical Update: TD Nine heads east from the Gulf for Yucatan.

Royals even Series at 1 each by beating the Giants 7-2.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Short Takes

Ebola — Travelers from West Africa must enter the U.S. through designated airports.

North Korea has released an Ohio man held since May for leaving a bible in a hotel room.

Ukrainian army appears to have fired cluster bombs in Donetsk.

Gary Hart to be U.S. representative to Northern Ireland.

Sweden chases undersea intruder.

World Series: Giants take Game 1.

Tropical Update: Invest 93L heads for the Yucatan.

R.I.P. Ben Bradlee, 93, former editor at the Washington Post; the real Jason Robards in All The President’s Men.