Wednesday, September 25, 2019

A Little Night Music

We had a special guest today at school: Sam Moore of the legendary Sam & Dave.  He spoke to our music classes, and when he asked the kids, ranging in age from grades 4 through 8, if they’d heard of some of the classic groups of the sixties like the Beatles and the Jackson 5, hands shot up.  He spoke of being an influence to Michael Jackson (the red coat was his idea) and how he loved making music.  It shows.

Tuesday, September 24, 2019

A Little Night Music

I heard a very lush orchestration of this as a piece of filler between stories on “All Things Considered” as I was driving home tonight.  For the life of me I couldn’t place it, but as I drove along and had plenty of time to think about it, it finally came to me: Sunday nights on NBC in 1971: “Columbo,” “McMillan and Wife,” “Hec Ramsey,” “McCloud,” and probably some I’ve forgotten.  So there’s your earworm for the evening.

Monday, September 23, 2019

Sunday, September 22, 2019

Saturday, September 21, 2019

Friday, September 20, 2019

Thursday, September 19, 2019

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Monday, September 16, 2019

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Saturday, September 14, 2019

Friday, September 13, 2019

A Little Night Music

My local cable company, Xfinity, has a commercial in heavy rotation wherein a horny teenage boy is trying to sneak into his girlfriend’s room via the trellis and window only to be met by her dad, whose phone tips him off that the erstwhile Romeo’s phone has connected to the home network.  Busted.

Whoever came up with the spot had the great sense to use this classic doo-wop song by the Strollers from 1957.

Thursday, September 12, 2019

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

A Little Night Music

Written by Maurice Ravel in memory of friends lost in World War I, it’s not mournful or sentimental, but in honor of the joy of friendship and closeness, camaraderie and humor.  Ravel turned his loss into a beautiful and happy tribute; the way they would have wanted to be remembered.  And on this anniversary of another horrible event, let’s remember the loss not with tears but with fond remembrance and let their love of life shine through.

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Monday, September 9, 2019

Sunday, September 8, 2019

Saturday, September 7, 2019

Friday, September 6, 2019